8 Days Away from Travelling to India… Hectic Week Ahead!

I can’t believe I’m travelling to India in 8 days.

I’m so excited but also a bit nervous and stressed about all of the details and logistics I need to take care of between now and then. I’ve been procrastinating a bit.

The time crunch just hit me like a ton of bricks. It’s time to get my s*%t together!

I’m cluing up all of my last minute employment details with my employer this week. This includes handing over my company car, which I’m pretty bummed about.

I also need to prepare my apartment for the sublet guests who will be moving in for the months of July and August (as I’ll be spending August in St. John’s, Newfoundland). I’m extremely thankful for these sublet guests as they’ll be offsetting my rent while I’m away.

Lots of tedious details to juggle carefully over the next week to ensure I’ve taken care of everything before skipping town!

First Week in India:

I still haven’t hammered down an exact plan for my first week in India.

I specify “first week” in India because I’ll be travelling there alone for a few days and will then be greeted by my friend, Matt. My girlfriend, Avi, and her mom will arrive on July 12th.

I want to leave the first portion of the trip somewhat unplanned and fluid because we will be following a fairly rigid schedule when Avi and her mom join us.

I’ll be landing in New Delhi on July 4th. I’ve never traveled alone. I’ve never left North America. I don’t speak Hindi (besides a few expressions I learned from an app).

It’s going to be interesting!

I honestly can’t wait for the culture shock. I love learning about and experiencing other cultures and traveling has been a desire of mine for a long time.

My girlfriend’s mother is from India so it will be awesome to gain a more thorough understanding of their culture and history.

I was supposed to plan out my first few days in New Delhi a bit today but I didn’t get around to it. I’m thinking I’ll just explore the city itself for a few days and then perhaps take a day trip or short overnight excursion to a nearby town when Matt joins me.

I definitely want to explore some of the spiritual aspects of Indian culture when I get there. The temples, meditation, music, etc.

And of course I can’t WAIT for the food. I adore Indian food and I’ve heard the cuisine in India is absolutely incredible. You can expect frequent updates on the food I eat during my travels. Don’t visit my blog on an empty stomach as of July 4th!

Anyways, I didn’t have much to say in this post today. I hope I gave you a riveting look into my mundane Sunday thoughts.

If any of you have traveled to India before, I’d love to hear your recommendations in the comments below! We’ll be hitting up a bunch of cities in the country, from Punjab all the way down to Goa.

Wishing everyone a happy and productive week ahead!

Cheers,

Dylan

2 thoughts on “8 Days Away from Travelling to India… Hectic Week Ahead!

Leave a Reply

